What Texas Car Accidents Laws You Must be Aware of
When you want to be a good driver, then such means that you should understand that there is really a possibility of becoming involved in a car accident. The car accidents may cause you so much inconvenience and also losses depending on the accident’s nature.
When it comes to the car accident laws in the different states in the US, they vary. Realize that Texas is one non-at-all-fault-state and with this, it would mean that there is still possibility for you to be financially responsible for the occurrence of such accident. So that you will be prepared in the event that there is an accident that takes place, then it is quite important that you know the Texas car accident laws.
Such statute of limitations is actually the law that would set your time limit rights in filing a lawsuit in the civil court. But such stipulated deadline would actually differ on the seriousness of those injuries which you suffered or such nature of the claim that you would like to submit. There are many Texas car accident lawsuits that demand that you must just file the claims in only two years from such date of the crash.
Also, you have to know that in Texas, such statute of limitation countdown would start during the day of the crash. When you are able to find that there is injury following the accident, through the attorney’s help, then the court can mark such countdown clock during that date of discovery.
In such Texas car accident laws, the court can pause the statute of limitation on wrongful deaths like the when the person dies due to the accident. The regulations would also provide a time limit of two years from such person’s death and not on the date of the crash.
You must also be aware that in the Texas auto car accident laws, if such driver would be found to be at fault for such car crash, then one should provide a compensation by using the other party’s insurance. The compensation can include the medical bills, lost wages, such damage to the vehicle and other losses because of the accident.
But, there is the modified comparative fault rule which Texas follows. The rule is being applied when the two parties are found to be at fault of such accident. The awarded damages of such plaintiff could be reduced by the percentage that is equivalent to one’s share of fault. When the court has found that the other driver was mostly or 90 percent at fault, then you would be responsible for the 10 percent of the crash and you will just be given 90 percent of the calculated damages.